May 25, 2020

Ashburn, Virginia. Change [your]LOCATION

Wayne County school districts receive mental health funding

Oct 10, 2019 | ,

The U.S. Department of Education has awarded 2.5 million dollars to the Sodus, Lyons, Newark, North-Rose Wolcott, and Clyde-Savannah School Districts over the next five years to bolster on-site mental health services with an emphasis on prevention.

The program will enable these schools to expand mental health services by increasing its capacity to train school counselors, social workers, psychologists, and other mental health professionals.

Congressman John Katko made the announcement Wednesday and said the funding is part of the Mental Health Service Professionals Demonstration Program.

With the award, the Wayne County School Districts, in partnership with SUNY Brockport and guided by the Wayne County Department of Mental Health will establish the Wayne County Community Schools Mental Health Demonstration Project—a program which aims to innovatively meet the mental health needs of nearly 7-thousand students in 19 rural school buildings.

More Top Stories

Translate »
Resize Font